Committee Overview & Composition

Committee Established

The Board of Selectmen, at its meeting on September 14, 2015, voted to establish an Economic Development Committee to advise the Board of Selectmen, Planning Board and other land use regulatory and advisory committees on matters related to economic development and to support, promote, encourage and advocate for projects that expand the Town’s commercial and industrial tax base in a manner that strengthens the local economy and diversifies the tax base consistent with the character of our community. The committee shall work to maintain interactive relationships to effectively address emergent issues with other committees from a business perspective through the appointment of liaisons to other land use regulatory and advisory committees.

In January 2020 the Board of Selectmen voted to adjust the Committee composition requirements and appointment terms. 

Committee Composition

The committee shall be comprised of seven (7) members appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the Board of Selectmen. Members serve a three year term. 

In addition to the seven appointed members, there are three (3)  Ex Officio Members: The Town Administrator, the Director of Planning & Economic Development and the Director of the Office of Community Development (or their designees). They shall serve ex officio without the right to vote and his/her presence shall not be counted in determining a quorum.